On September 25, 2015, the United Nations launches its summit to finalize and formally adopt the new Sustainable Development Agenda. As the Millennium Development Goals, adopted in 2000, comes to an end at the end of this year, it is important to adopt a new set of goals to continue the work on development. Until Sunday, September 27, representatives of all 193 member countries will gather at the United Nations Head Quarters in New York to finalize the agreement of sustainable goals foe the next fifteen years.

The 17 proposed Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) include a wide range of topics: ending extreme poverty, fighting injustice and inequality, and working on climate change. The new agenda will serve as a guideline for member states in coming together to work for more just, equal, and sustainable world. Member states are expected to use these goals as baseline in designing their own national policies and goals.

Below are the 17 Proposed Sustainable Development Goals that member states will be working on during the summit:

1) End poverty in all its forms everywhere.

2) End hunger, achieve food security and improved nutrition, and promote sustainable agriculture.

3) Ensure healthy lives and promote wellbeing for all at all ages.

4) Ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all.

5) Achieve gender equality and empower all women and girls.

6) Ensure availability and sustainable management of water and sanitation for all.

7) Ensure access to affordable, reliable, sustainable, and modern energy for all.

8) Promote inclusive and sustainable economic growth, full and productive employment, and decent work for all.

9) Build resilient infrastructure, promote inclusive and sustainable industrialization, and foster innovation.

10) Reduce inequality within and among countries.

11) Make cities and human settlements inclusive, safe, resilient, and sustainable.

12) Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns.

13) Take urgent action to combat climate change and its impacts.

14) Conserve and sustainably use the oceans, seas, and marine resources for sustainable development.

15) Protect, restore and promote sustainable use of terrestrial ecosystems, sustainably manage forests, combat desertification, halt and reverse land degradation, and halt biodiversity loss.

16) Promote peaceful and inclusive societies for sustainable development, provide access to justice for all and build effective, accountable and inclusive institutions at all levels.

17) Strengthen the means of implementation and revitalize the global partnership for sustainable development.

Text drafted by Juliana Kagami and edited by Robert Niewiadomski

World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS +10) - Informal Interactive Stakeholder Consultation

On October 19th, NABU representatives participated in Informal Interactive Stakeholder...

International Day for Eradication of Poverty

On October 16, 2015, NABU representatives participated in the event...